Letter from Felixstowe: The Worry Path

A walk by the River Rothay, Lake District, England

A walk by the River Rothay, Lake District, England

After a non-stop wonderful few days with my son, my thoughts are with a dear friend in another place who wishes to keep medical concerns private, but about whom I can’t help worrying.

I know: worrying is not helpful or productive – unless, perhaps, it inspires positive action. According to the Bible, the lilies of the field can teach me a lot: they do not toil or spin, but abide with beauty and faith. The ‘serenity prayer’ counsels acceptance of things we cannot change. One popular song advises, ‘Don’t worry. Be happy’; another – one my mother still loves – ‘Always look on the bright side of life’.

I get it. Worrying can eat away at a person without making anything better. But I think it’s human, and legitimate, to worry sometimes.

I’ve called it ‘the worry path’ because, maybe, thinking of it that way means it’s a conscious choice I can make: to go down that path – or not.

The person I hold close in my heart is getting excellent medical attention and is blessed with loving support. For this I’m not worried, but thankful.

If anyone reading this is a worrier, have you any insights on how to worry less?

Bridge and footpath near Ambleside, Lake District, England

Bridge and footpath near Ambleside, Lake District, England

Cheers and thanks for reading. Next week’s letter will be from Felixstowe.

7 Responses

  1. Dear Carolyn , I wish I an answer or answers on how to stop worrying but I don’t. It is a natural reaction when circumstances cause us to think everything and worry .But as you say we do have a choice how much we allow it too be in our lives… I worry but not like I use too. ..Sending you a prayer and positive thoughts .take care xo Anne

  2. Thanks Anne – love your ‘I worry but not as much as I used to’ — that is good 🙂 and my goal! Cheers and thks.

  3. Try to separate worry and thinking. Keep in touch via email and/or telephone. I save up funny stories for my friend here in town who has ALS. Understand that she may not feel up to answering.

    For example on the first day of classes this semester, I became convinced that I had left the stove on to the point that I actually ended my class early and rushed home. Clearly my worry quotient was FAR over the top. One might think that after nearly 33 years of teaching, I would have the first day of classes down pat. Nonetheless I did not, and so I made it as funny a story as I could and wrote and sent it to her. She thought it was funny too especially when she could imagine the writer, whom she has known for over 30 years, rushing madly to collect her car and hurry home. Such a little thing because of course what we want is for these difficult diseases never to have happened and things might be the way they were.

    Sadly that will not be the case, so use your strength, Carol, which is your ability to put interesting and amusing everyday happenings into text.

  4. Forgot to say: lovely pictures to illustrate your post, especially the one at the top.

  5. Thanks Eleanor for your comments!

    The Lake District is sooooo beautiful and I can’t wait to get back there — many wonderful paths and areas to explore. This time of year all the daffodils are apparently blooming which I would also love to see in person and know you would, too 🙂

  6. If you find a way to worry less, please bottle up some of that magic potion and send it to me!!!!

  7. Kim, a belated thanks for your comment but I’m sorry to say I haven’t found the magic potion … working on it and will keep you in mind for some.

Leave a Reply

