Letter from the USA: Three Thanksgiving Prayers

with my stepson's beautiful boys

with my stepson’s beautiful boys

I’m so thankful for this great American holiday and for the memorable time we had with my son, his fiancée and her amazing family. Thank you, thank you to my son’s future in-laws for a beautiful Thanksgiving Day.

I’m thankful, too, for the evening we had with my mother at assisted living.

As this day draws to a close, I count my blessings and hope and pray for many things. At the most personal level are these heartfelt wishes for my closest U.S. family:

  1. That my mother continues to be happy and feel loved and well-cared for, and that I will know each step of the way what is best for her and what I need to do to make it happen.
My mother, 90-1/2 years young

My mother, 90-1/2 years young

  1. That my stepson continues to recover from his kidney transplant and feels stronger and better each day.
My stepson and Max the cat

My stepson and Max the cat

  1. That my son and his fiancée have a happy and healthy future as they plan their wedding and life together.
The engaged couple on Thanksgiving Day

The engaged couple on Thanksgiving Day

Before we depart early next week, we’ll enjoy a few more days with my son. We’ll also complete my mother’s annual Christmas letter, for which we turn our hotel room into a mini-production centre complete with printer, shredder (for mistakes), stacks of envelopes & mailing labels and a small pile of U.S. stamps.

Then we’ll head back to our home by the sea in England. Until then, I’ll treasure the moments.

at my mother's 90th birthday party, May 2014

at my mother’s 90th birthday party, May 2014

Cheers and thanks for reading. Next week’s letter will be from Felixstowe.

6 Responses

  1. I’m so glad you’ve had such a wonderful, family-oriented Thanksgiving visit to the US!

  2. I wish you and your family many more happy Thanksgivings to come. Safe travels home to you and Clive.

  3. Mary thanks and hope to make it back to DC sometime for a catch-up with you too 🙂 MarthaB, appreciate your wishes and hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday season. Cheers.

  4. Happy Thanksgiving, Carol! It’s wonderful reading about your life and seeing pictures – very cool to reconnect with you in this way. ❤

  5. So happy to read this very joyous post … and that everyone is doing well. Your mum looks amazing for 90 1/2 and so pleased about your stepson and your son and his fiancée.. Safe journey home to England. xo

  6. Libby, hello and thank you for commenting! Love reconnecting with you as well 🙂 Wishing you and your family a blessed holiday season.

    annieparis, thank you too — we are looking forward to getting back home to England. Hope all’s well in Oxfordshire – happy December!

Leave a Reply

