Letter from Felixstowe: Scotland, Either Way

Scotland, either way

Scotland, either way

Last week in the Scottish Highlands, we saw ‘YES’ banners everywhere. This week, back in Suffolk on a river cruise, we met a couple from Edinburgh, currently living in England. They said they were incensed they don’t have a vote in this week’s independence referendum and believe they were excluded because Scots living elsewhere in the UK would likely vote ‘NO.’

I think it’s fair to say most of our friends would prefer – overwhelmingly – to have Scotland remain in the UK.

As for me, American by birth and Australian by citizenship, I was raised to applaud and revere the USA’s fight for independence, with the Revolutionary War also named the War of Independence. It was of course a totally different situation and the countries are an ocean apart, but I think many people can appreciate a nation’s impulse and pride and yearning to be, and be seen as, independent.

In Australia, I witnessed the republic referendum in November 1999. During those years, which included the run-up to the Sydney 2000 Olympics, I was impressed over and over again by the country’s energy, capability, intelligence, optimism, beauty, and success on countless levels. Yet for various reasons, the referendum was defeated. A key voice in the ‘No’ campaign belonged to monarchists, and many of our Aussie friends valued the country’s connection to the monarchy and wanted it to continue.

In all the discussion around the Scotland referendum, I haven’t heard much about the monarchy (though we haven’t listened to all the debates).

The entire UK seems to have been electrified by today’s referendum. It’s a momentous time for everyone and either way, change will reverberate throughout the UK in months and years to come.

And either way, we’ll always love Scotland.

Highlands footpath, Scotland

Highlands footpath, Scotland

2 Responses

  1. Hi Carolyn , A great post but I have not met anyone today who is even talking about it , let alone understand it . I have had to read up on lots of things, I am not dumb but still don’t understand. Also today I had to explain to someone , what the UK is , what Great Britain is and what Britain is , such a mix up . We are an island of mix up . I am sure my next door neighbour is fuming that he does not have a vote , not sure why they don’t , Our grandson says his mum is voting yes , and she is English but has lived in Scotland more, and her mum is voting NO and she is also English but lives in Scotland. My grandson said I am Scottish but most of my family is English so I want the to stay together and he is 11. Well I will find out in the morning . And then see how the result is going to affect us in England. 🙂 take care Anne xo

  2. Anne, thanks for your comment! To me, you & your family are a wonderful example of how integrated UK families can be. Clive’s grandfather was from Stirling, Scotland so Clive is also part-Scottish. We’re both happy with the referendum’s outcome.

    Your grandson sounds like a cool kid 🙂 Cheers.

Leave a Reply

