Taking It Easy in Paris

Strolling in the Jardin du Ranelagh, Paris


I’m overjoyed, as always, to be back in Paris. Due to family priorities with visits to Australia and the U.S. — along with getting settled in our new home in England — we haven’t been here since last July, when we reached the milestone of arriving with only our backpacks.

Paris seems to be blooming before our eyes in this week’s sunshine and warm weather, perfect for relaxing in a local park or garden. 

Le Jardin du Ranelagh, Paris

Lest anyone think it’s all glamour, however, we turned on the water in the apartment and discovered a leaky bathroom pipe. Thankfully it’s in the bathtub, so the water drips down the drain instead of onto the floor.

Strange as it may seem, I actually enjoy the process I always go through in (non-urgent) situations like this: look up and learn some new French words, talk with the concierge (who speaks some English) and/or the wonderful upstairs neighbours (who speak zero English), and make necessary telephone call(s). I’m pleased to say I was able to 1) communicate in French such things as ‘my husband says it’s not the tap washer but a problem with the water pipe’ and 2) schedule the plumber (for tomorrow, since it’s not a dire emergency).

We also arrived to find the apartment without its usually-reliable Internet service, though TV and phone were working fine. After Clive checked all connections and conducted various tests, I had no option but to ring the French-speaking call centre. After communicating the problem, I learned our entire quartier was experiencing an outage. We went to bed and it was fixed during the night.

Today we headed out for another day in the sun, gradually stripping off our jackets and jumpers as Paris temperatures rose to 20C.

The Tuileries garden, Paris

After all the recent renovation and building work at home, we were ready (Clive especially) to take it easy for a couple weeks. Paris offers a beautiful respite, a place to simply pick up a book, go to a park, and sit in the sun. We figure the Vitamin D will be good for us, too.

Clive at the Tuileries garden, Paris

Our good friends from the UK arrive for a few days next week. Today we scoped out their hotel — D&J, it looks great and is in a brilliant location!

Cheers for now and more soon.

8 Responses

  1. Love your photos … I miss Paris! I was just saying to John the other day how much I’d like to go back with him. Maybe next year we can plan a short trip over. It looks beautiful in your photographs … I had only been in winter until two years ago when I was there in September with my sister. Spring would be a nice change.

  2. Paris is one of my favourite cities, how wonderful to have an appartment there..

  3. It’s been so lovely, hasn’t it? And hey!! GREAT job on all that stuff you accomplished in French! I’m so proud of you!

    Soak in all the nice weather while it is here. I’m so grateful for the sunshine!

    Take care & see you soon, Carolyn.
    xx
    Karin

  4. Gee, Carol. That was so impressive. I am generally pleased to be able to communicate my needs in English and convince a repairman to come to the house. Like my refrigerator is not working and I will have to throw everything away. Which I did and was forced to fork over a large amount at the grocery store. On the bright side my refrigerator was very clean and the repairman showed up and fixed the problem.

    Very attractive pictures, I think. It has been so warm here the last several weeks that all my daffodils are out about 3 weeks early, but I am enjoying them as long as they last. It appears that you are liking the lovely weather and the pleasant walks.

  5. Hi Carolyn & Clive,

    Here you are! You guys lucked out for the weather. Everything is so beautiful. I am so glad to know that Carolyn has been dealing in French for those practical matters like plumbing. You go, girl!
    Now more of the R&R part. Enjoy and see you next week.

    Hugs to you both,
    xo

  6. Hi all – Elizabeth, definitely Paris in the spring would be brilliant for you and John, I’m sure!

    LindyLouMac, it is indeed very special to have a little place here — despite various challenges I feel it’s one of my life’s best decisions 🙂

    Paris Karin, great to see you here and appreciate all your wonderful words about Paris. And look forward to seeing you in real life too!

    Eleanor, couldn’t agree more about communicating in English — I can’t speak plumbing in English let alone French, so was very happy all went well with the plumber.

    xpat, we are totally thrilled to be so lucky with the weather. Look forward to sharing some of the sunshine with you 🙂

    Cheers all.

  7. We lived right by the Ranelagh Gardens – so pleased to see the pix, Carolyn.

  8. Susie, that’s wonderful – what a great place to live nearby.

    Thanks for your comment and cheers to a beautiful Parisian garden.

Leave a Reply

