Our Pop-up Christmas Tree: Oh Dear, It Looks Like a Cello

Resembling a cello


Clive and I bought our first pop-up Christmas tree — a new concept, at least for us — for our first Christmas together in England. We both like real Christmas trees, but also appreciate the ease and other benefits of having an artificial one (I listed ten reasons I like it in a prior post).

Large DIY shops HomeBase and B&Q had a huge range of artificial trees, which surprised me. Somehow I thought being back in the northern hemisphere meant everyone would have a real Christmas tree. It turns out quite a few of our friends and neighbours also have artificial ones.

When we discovered the pop-up tree, we liked the idea of simply ‘pulling it up’, instead of clicking in every individual, colour-coded branch. We also wanted a fairly modest-sized tree.

Clive did the popping up and our first reaction was that our tree looked like a cello. Obviously the top piece needed fluffing out, but the bottom part seemed flat and pressed in. We duly went around each ring, shaped the branches, and were rewarded with a well-shaped tree.

All done, except for a skirt

With some 1200 lights (family tradition = must have *lots* of lights), our Australian ornaments,  and others we’ve collected on our travels, our tree is twinkling, bright and ready for Christmas — though it still needs a red skirt to be completely dressed. Next purchase!  

Cheers and more soon.

12 Responses

  1. ho ho kus is nicer than ever new side walks new trees ho ho hus in under new management got the pub back not snotty now merry christmas art coke was owner of arts barber shop 50 years

  2. Yes I assumed that too when I moved to France but in the city people prefer pretend trees because the real ones loose their needles with the central heating unless you buy the more expensive ones. We have a real one now that we spend Christmas in a rented house in the country.

  3. Art, hello and thanks for your comment. I agree Ho-Ho-Kus is looking great — and no doubt really Christmas-y by now — as we were just there a couple weeks ago. You were a wonderful part of so many HHK kids’ childhoods – thanks for that too!

    Fraussie, nice you have a real tree – cheers and enjoy!

  4. Congratulations to both of you for a job well done – with lights and decorations, gone are all traces of the Christmas tree’s former life as a cello! Thanks for giving me just the encouragement that I need to get going on our tree.

  5. Mary Kay, welcome and thank you! Glad to have given you the encouragement for your own tree 🙂

    Cheers and happy decorating!

  6. Nice tree! Until my husband came along, I have always had a real tree, and my job during the season was to water the thing which meant contorting my body with full qt. container of water, and slithering under said tree. Never was there are falling needle!!! Mother kept our handmade ornaments – the paper chain, and santas with glued-on cotton beards. I think my brother David has them now…

    You and Clive have a wonderful Christmas in your new home.

    Martha

  7. Nice save from the Cello Tree (LOL!). Reminds me of how my daughter saved ours!

  8. Martha, too funny about crawling under the tree to constantly water it! I definitely do *not* miss that part of it. I love all those childhood ornaments though my son says his are embarrassing 🙂

    Paul, yay for your daughter saving the day!

    Cheers and happy Christmas to all.

  9. Hi C&C,

    Yay! It really sounds like you are home now! That did look odd once out of the box. But, you both did a beautiful job decorating. Gorgeous!
    How wonderful to be making your new traditions in your new home.
    Make it lovely.

    Cheers to you both.
    xo

  10. xpat92, thank you and I think you are not too far away from making a move and creating some new traditions of your own!

    Cheers and happy holidays!

  11. *shhhhhhh*

    Don’t tell Paris Paul (although I suspect he already knows, even tho’ I am pretty quiet about it), but I really have come to appreciate artificial trees. They are easy to put up, they are ecological, they do not shed (or not as much as the real things), and they are tidier, easier to fit in tiny apartments, and overall are just a MUCH better deal IMHO. I do love the way that real ones smell, I’ll give real trees that prop, but other that that, I would take a “cello tree” ANY day!!

    In fact, I kind of have decided that I would prefer to forgo a tree altogether, but that is just too Scrooge-like for many people, except Jewish people, who also have the right idea in going to Chinese restaurants on Christmas Day. Ha. I was born into the wrong culture and religion perhaps, lol.

    Anyway, I applaud your tree. 🙂

    Sounds like you had a good Christmas, Carolyn. Here’s to a great 2012!
    xx
    Karin

  12. Hi Karin! Loved your comment and I won’t be the one who gives away your secret to your hubby!

    When we were in the U.S. in Nov, we found a great Yankee Candle with the scent ‘Sparkling Pine’ (we sniffed quite a few holiday-named candles …). Clive brought it back in his carry-on and Voila! You just light it up, the piney aroma fills the room, and it seems (at least after a glass or two of wine) that the tree itself is doing it.

    Highly recommend the combo: artificial tree, pine-scented candle, and nice bottle of wine or bubbly.

    Cheers and Happy New Year! Maybe you can have some good Chinese to ring in 2012 🙂

Leave a Reply

