Home by the Sea in Felixstowe, England

View to the North Sea

Felixstowe Suffolk UK

Greetings and happy three-day weekend to everyone who has a Monday holiday coming up.

After manic March and family visits to Australia and the U.S., Clive and I have returned to our new home by the sea in Felixstowe.

I hope to re-launch this blog sometime next month, with an enhanced header title and photograph that incorporates this little part of the planet that’s come to mean so much to me.  I’ve also set myself a goal of publishing shorter posts more frequently – advice recommended to all bloggers but an objective that seems to elude me every time I sit down to write.  I’m going to really try, though!

We have numerous projects we’d like to accomplish inside our new place – and there’s so much else we want to do, from local activities to travel near and far.  And we’re always drawn to simply stepping out onto the balcony, to breathe the fresh air and watch whatever shipping or sailing activities may be taking place on the sea and around the Felixstowe docks.

View toward Felixstowe pier and docks

On my desk is a pile of papers and to-do’s I set physically and mentally aside in recent months, telling myself ‘Do what must be done now and leave the rest until you return in early June.’  The first five months of the year have whizzed by and the piles must now be tackled.

As many of you know and have experienced yourselves, there’s so much to learn and absorb during one’s early days in a new home and country.

Here in England, some water taps turn in the reverse direction from the way they do in Australia — you pull them toward you to turn them off.  On our first day back, after long overnight flights and before we went out to dinner at our friends’ home (thank you again, J&D!), I washed my hands and. thinking I was careful to turn the tap off tight, pushed it as far away from me as I could and promptly left the room.  When we returned home several hours later, we found the tap gushing at full force into the sink.  I blame jet lag for not noticing it when we left, and thank my stars the sink drain works, apparently quite well. 

I’m also finding it fascinating to learn the provenance of familiar foods.  Much is grown locally.  I still adore parsnips but am presently enraptured by Suffolk asparagus, which is in season.  The salmon we bought earlier this week came from Norway, instead of Tasmania.  It was delicious, and we’re keen to try Scottish salmon next.

There’s so much here I want to write about.  I feel a buzz in the air already for summer at the seaside, that old, glorious family tradition which remains as alive here in England as it does elsewhere in the world.  We’ve made various plans for upcoming events, which I’ll share in future posts.

In the meantime, happy early summer, and here’s a photo from a recent evening when we enjoyed dinner at a riverside pub, another experience that delights me here and which I’ll write more about in due course.

Riverside pub, Suffolk

Cheers for now and more soon.

8 Responses

  1. Hi Carolyn & Clive,

    I am thrilled to find you “at home”! 🙂
    You sound like newleyweds(well, you are!) who are just settling in after a whirlwind trip. But of course I, know that you have already worked hard before leaving.

    Life is quiet and also busy outside of Paris. I look forward to catching you both one of these days when you return.

    I love the views from your home! Like in Sydney, you are surrounded by water.

    Take care and all the best to you both xo

  2. Hi Barbara!

    Thank you for your kind comment and it’s wonderful to hear from you. I’m glad things are OK for you outside Paris and hope we can get together in person there later this summer 🙂

  3. Hello Carolyn and Clive .. Welcome Home 🙂 Oh you do have lots and lots to do .. and settling in too.. By the sounds of things that won’t take you long 🙂

    I am off to Paris next week ….:-) its my birthday again LOL .. that is one year since you did that little blog post for me .. blimey , time has flown by.

    As Barbara said .. “you are still near the water” LOL

    Take care and best wishes to you and Clive xox

  4. Enjoy your “Early summer”. Think of us suffering down here in the southern hemisphere experiencing our coldest May. All the best with your To Do lists, I hope you fly through them

  5. Anne, thanks for your good wishes and an early HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you! Just can’t believe it’s almost a year since we sent you the Paris greetings. Wish we could join you with the gang but maybe later this summer 🙂 Have a wonderful trip.

    Mrs Chipndale!!! Thanks for your comment — it is great to ‘see’ you — interesting about the coldest May Down Under. Hope you have all stayed warm and appreciate your taking the time to stop by.

    Cheers.

  6. Carolyn thank you so much for visiting my blog yesterday and for your kind words. Sometimes it’s easy to get discouraged about things and when people like you comment it just makes everything seem better! Thank you so much and have a wonderful day!

  7. Hi Carolyn and Clive–

    YAY!!!! You’re back and ‘closer’ now to those of us in Paris who look forward to seeing you sometime…. Maybe over the summer??
    Your area looks lovely and it’s nice to see that you are settling in …. Have a great weekend!
    Hugs, Leesa

  8. Krysten, thanks for visiting! Hang in there and I hope to see you here again soon 🙂

    Leesa! Hi there — am waving to you across the Channel! We’ll definitely have to get together somehow, somewhere – we’ll be in Paris later this summer. Happy weekend to you too!

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

