Precious Days

New Jersey, USA

In the midst of our busy days here, I’m trying to be conscious of the value of each moment, especially those spent with closest family members. My mother’s birthday party for sixteen, about which I’d been mildly stressed for some time, was a success all around so we’re now able to catch our breath just a little.

My son flew up from Washington, D.C. to join us for the weekend and the party, and my favourite times were the simple ones, when I could look across a room, share a laugh, or just relish being in the same physical space with two of the most important people in my life.

With my son and my mother in NJ

My son is back at work in the nation’s capital and Clive and I still have much to do in New Jersey before we travel to Washington to see him again in a couple weeks.

The days pass quickly, and they are precious.

Cheers for now and more soon.

8 Responses

  1. Hi Carolyn I am pleased your mums party was stress free and you can now breathe a sigh of relief.

    My mum had surprise party for 80th last year, I was soooo stressed… but that when without a hitch… one person nearly let the cat out of the bag… my step sister… !!

    Take care and enjoy your time in America.

  2. This is such a sweet post … it makes me miss my daughter even more than normal for some reason.

  3. I’m so glad everything went well. Its lovely to see you three together.

  4. But OF COURSE you pulled off a lovely celebration to fete your mother! So glad you are having that special time together there. Enjoy DC !

  5. Anne, thanks and glad your mum’s bday also went well! Elizabeth, appreciate your understanding — I know you’ve just had a week with your daughter so you really get it.

    Julie, thanks for the comment! It is great to all be together 🙂

    Kim, we are looking forward to being in your former city soon.

    Cheers all.

  6. Hi Carolyn,

    You’re mom looks lovely – like a spring chicken!! Your son is a cutie, too!!
    Glad you had a nice time with your fam… it sounds as though it was a fun time had by all! Enjoy!

  7. Hi Carolyn & Clive,

    Yeah! everything went fine and you all were very happy for the experience.

    What a lovely Mom you have and I think that your son looks a lot like you 🙂 Thank you for presenting your family.
    You are right to experience it all at 100% + because time is always ticking when we live elsewhere. Enjoy and enjoy more.

    XX

  8. Hi Barbara! You’re very sweet and it’s so true about time always ticking, especially when we live elsewhere.

    I appreciate your great understanding and hope I can live up to the goal of experiencing it all at 100%.

    Cheers and take care.

Leave a Reply

