Missing in Action on the Pont des Arts

Our lovelock on the Pont des Arts, Paris

Sydney

Our lovelock on the Pont des Arts is most likely no more. Alerted by Barbara (thank you!), we learned the city of Paris this week removed most if not all of the lovers’ padlocks on the historic bridge.

A quick Internet search led us to a Reuters article, ‘Paris scorns lovers with scour of romantic bridge’, which states the locks ‘vanished overnight’ earlier this week. We also found a Flickr photo of our very own cow padlock, taken this month and already showing a bit of rust.

We’ll no doubt still check out the bridge next week when we’re in Paris for a few days en route to the U.S., though we don’t expect our cow to have been spared.

As I wrote in my earlier post, before we put our cow padlock on the bridge we debated about visual clutter vs. what we concluded was a clean, harmless, and romantic gesture. But it’s hard to control something like this, and we anticipated the city might want to remove them. Personally, to clean up the bridge I’d suggest focusing on the annoying ring scammers, particularly on the Louvre side, and the artists who claim entire benches with their wares so it’s often impossible to find a place to sit.

I suppose some determined lovers might try again with their lovelocks, but we’re (probably) not planning to do so. I’m satisfied to have played a part in the romantic tradition, and no matter what, we’ll always love the Pont des Arts.

Pont des Arts, Paris

5 Responses

  1. Hi Carolyn…

    OHHHHHH…. gosh! Well, I can believe it but it’s a cryin’ shame, I tell ya! I do agree that they should be going after other more troubling things like… taggers— the RERs and Metros are cluttered with ugly graffiti/tagging and so are national monuments and historic points of interest… Sorry to hear about yours and others padlocks being removed…
    If you go to Cinque Terre – the path to Rio Maggore is covered with small lover’s padlocks like yours… I have some pics back on my Vacation blog.. if you hadn’t seen…
    Not sure if you will have time to meet up next week while you’re here- since it’s such a short trip.. but, give me a shout…
    Take care and have a good flight over here..
    Hugs,
    Leese

  2. It’s a shame that they took them down It is such a lovely tradition. I would have thought that Parisians would have protested. Le sigh!
    xxoo

  3. Hi Carolyn & Clive,
    Iam glad to have passed on the news! I watch the regional news on FR3 quite often and that stirred me up. I thought about you right off!!

    You are taking it very calmly and maybe it was the gesture that counted and matter not that your lovelock may not be there.

    You expressed yourselves and declared your love to vourselves and to the world . Bravo xx

    Have a good trip!

  4. What a shame! I actually had it on my to-do list to look for your cow-lock next time I crossed the bridge…

  5. Thanks for the sympathy, everyone! Leesa, hope to see you and Barbara later in June – our time there this coming week is just too short, unfortunately.

    Belette, ‘le Sigh!’ is perfect 🙂

    Barbara, you’re so right — for me indeed the gesture was meaningful, even if our little cow is no longer there.

    Res, thanks for the thought – I appreciate it!

    Cheers all.

Leave a Reply

