A New Year Begins

Fireworks over Manly Cove, Sydney

Sydney

It’s high summer in Sydney, with kids off school and families on holidays, while in the northern hemisphere everyone is back to work.

Life has a way of being unpredictable at the best of times. My son’s planned visit Down Under had a last-minute showstopper (which happens when one is in the working world) so I was especially thankful we shared Thanksgiving in the U.S. last November.

After a wonderful Christmas and Boxing Day with Clive’s children and adorable grandsons, we decided to have a quiet New Year’s Eve at home with a cheese platter and a bottle of champagne, watching the Manly fireworks from our balcony.

As with the main Sydney Harbour fireworks, which get worldwide coverage, there are many local shows at 9pm for families who don’t want to keep the children up too late or brave the crowds in the city.

2010 – May We All Dance

In lieu of posting new year’s resolutions, I thought I’d offer a wish for all of us via the lyrics of one of my favourite songs, ‘I Hope You Dance,’ by Mark D. Sanders and Tia Sillers:

  I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
  You get your fill to eat, but always keep that hunger
  May you never take one single breath for granted
  God forbid love ever leaves you empty-handed.

  I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean
  Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens
  Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance
  and when you get the choice to sit it out or dance,
  I hope you dance, I hope you dance.

  I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance
  Never settle for the path of least resistance
  Living might mean taking chances, but they’re worth taking
  Loving might be a mistake but it’s worth making.
  Don’t let some hell bent heart leave you bitter
  When you come close to selling out, reconsider.
  Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance

  And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance,
  I hope you dance (time is a wheel in constant motion always)
  I hope you dance (rolling us along)
  I hope you dance (tell me who wants to look back on their years
  and wonder where those years have gone)
  I hope you dance.

  I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
  Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
  Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
  And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance,
  I hope you dance.

Here’s the final minute of the 15-minute Manly show.

Cheers and may we all dance in 2010.

6 Responses

  1. Thank you for the beautiful poem Carolyn.
    Not that I didn’t know it but I just realized that the reason why there were so many Australians and Kiwis in Hawaii was because of your summer holidays. I guess the US dollar is also a good deal for you guys.
    Happiness and health is probably the most important thing I can wish for you and your readers.

  2. Hi Carolyn, thank you for your kind words, pleased you liked the post!! Well the new year is here, and at the moment I might have to look for another job 😦 we shall see how it picks up..but either way I will make it back to Paris..!!

    Wasnt it so good that you all made it together for Thanksgiving, living so far away it must be hard, especially when something happens that the plans don’t work out…. what did you call it?? A showstopper!!!!! I like it.

    Well i hope that you are all lovely and warm down there, LOL LOL take care Anne xx

  3. And best wishes for a wonderful 2010 back to you!! x

  4. We had a quiet New Year’s Eve too. I was in bed by midnight. I saw it all on TV the next day. Not very exciting but there you go.

  5. Bonjour les amis,

    Wow, that is so cool, sitting on your terrace & enjoying the show 🙂
    I saw in the news that people even put up tents several days in advance to get a close up seat. Nah… you don’t need to do that !

    Sorry to hear that your son can’t make it to visit you, but I know that it will happen. Yes, be thankful that you did spend time together.

    Big hugs to you both Down Under XX

  6. Thanks for your comments and cheers to you for 2010, Nadege, Anne, Michelle, Linda, and xpat92!

Leave a Reply

