Paris Crowds and Conkers

Arc de Triomphe and the Champs-Élysées, Paris

Arc de Triomphe and the Champs-Élysées, Paris

Paris

In the spectacular weather of recent days, we’ve seen Paris both crowded and quiet.

On Sunday, families and tour groups alike walked on the Champs-Élysées, from the Arc de Triomphe to Place de la Concorde.

Place de la Concorde, Paris

Place de la Concorde, Paris

As much as I adore the residential quartiers and smaller shopping streets of Paris, I’m equally impressed all over again every time we stop and look at the city’s historic monuments and squares.

Fountain at Place de la Concorde, Paris

Fountain at Place de la Concorde, Paris

Just a few steps west of Place de la Concorde, along the Seine, is Cours de la Reine, the Queen’s Way.  It’s an uncrowded, tree-lined path perfect for walking (both of us) and examining fallen horse chestnuts (Clive), which he used in his younger days to play conkers with his friends.

Cours de la Reine, Paris

Cours de la Reine, Paris

Clive hasn’t taught me how to play conkers yet, but from the sound of it I don’t think I’d be very good at throwing my chestnut so hard it cracks someone else’s. I’m happy to just admire them sitting on the mantle.

3 Responses

  1. Oh my boys loved playing conkers, and we used to collect bags and bags of them on the way to school and back. They are not allowed to play conkers at school anymore, something to do with Health and Safety, what a load of tosh!!

    Oh your photos remind me of my latest visit, I went there this time too! Walked up there from Invalides..so lovely, that was when I was on my way to Kim at WH smiths.. 🙂

  2. Just as they were! (on their way to see me). Not that that was their only goal, but they did end up there!

  3. I’m in Paris for a few days with my daughter. The weather just couldn’t be better.

Leave a Reply

