A Walk to Manly: Merry Solar-Powered Christmas

Manly Ferry Crossing the Heads, Sydney Harbour

Manly Ferry Crossing the Heads, Sydney Harbour

Sydney, Thursday 

This afternoon we took our first walk since arriving home a few days ago.  Here are a few photos of what you’re likely to see around Manly on a Thursday afternoon in December.

Manly has both a harbour and an ocean beach.  As in the photo above, ferries from Circular Quay in Sydney’s central business district cross “the Heads,” Sydney Harbour headlands, on the way to dropping off passengers at Manly Wharf. 

 

Ferry Arriving at Manly Wharf (taken from Harbour walkway)

Ferry Arriving at Manly Wharf (taken from Harbour walkway)

Manly Wharf is on the Harbour end of the Corso, a pedestrian thoroughfare that runs between Sydney Harbour and the Pacific Ocean.  Schoolboys were playing cricket on the beach next to the wharf. 

 

Cricket on the Beach, Manly Wharf, Sydney Harbour

Cricket on the Beach, Manly Wharf, Sydney Harbour

The Corso is geared mostly to tourists, as opposed to serious Christmas shoppers, but it still seemed quiet to me this afternoon.  Maybe it’s because we saw so many decorations and advertisements in the U.S., England, and Paris.  Christmas is much more low-key in Australia – possibly because it’s summer — and the only major sign of it we saw today was a large red present topped with a tree in the middle of the Corso’s real palm trees.  It says, “Merry Christmas.  The lights on this tree are solar powered.”

 

Christmas Tree among the Palms, Manly Corso

Christmas Tree among the Palms, Manly Corso

We got our coffees – the best value cappuccinos in Manly at $2.50 each are found at New Zealand Ice Cream on the Corso – and found a bench facing the ocean.  We sat in the sunshine and sipped away, reflecting on the fact that exactly a week ago we were keeping ourselves warm by drinking hot red wine on the Champs-Elysées.

 

Manly Beach, Late Thursday Afternoon

Manly Beach, Late Thursday Afternoon

 

3 Responses

  1. WOWWW!!! When I went to Oz in 1985… my first stop was Sydney! I fell in love immediately with this beautiful and cosmopolitan city!! I actually was planning to only stay for 10 days – but ended up staying for 3 weeks (that’s how much I loved it!! It was sooo hard to leave! I stayed in Manly, right off of E. Esplanade, in an apt. with 3 people who were living there at the time! I loved it!!! I look the ferry every day into the city… so I know that ferry pretty well!!! Also, it was on the Corso where I had my “frist” Mexican food in the Southern Hemisphere!! I had lived in NZ for 2 1/2 where Mexican food was nonexistent!!! I was sooo happy when I got to Manly and saw that there was a fast food resto right on the Corso… I really loved that place… Thanks for sharing and bringing back nice memories!! Sydney is sooo huge, btw… So much to see and do… It’s one of my fav. cities in the world… There and Dubai!!

  2. what great photos!! You’re making me holiday-sick!! I was in Australia back in March and did the Spit Bridge to Manly walk and those pictures just bring it all back!!

  3. Thanks, Leesa and Sam!

Leave a Reply

