Ranelagh Garden and an Eiffel Tower Bride, Paris

Japanese Model & Eiffel Tower

Japanese Model & Eiffel Tower

Paris, late October

What better to do on a sunny Sunday in Paris than walk?  It was our last day here for a month or so, and we spent part of it walking from Ranelagh Garden to Trocadéro and the Eiffel Tower.

Jardin du Ranelagh & Chausée de lat Muette, Paris

Jardin du Ranelagh & Chausée de lat Muette, Paris

 

Le Jardin du Ranelagh is near métro La Muette, in the northern part of the 16th arrondissement (western side) of Paris.  As with parks and gardens all over the city, it’s filled with Parisian families on Sundays.  There’s a carousel,  pony ride,  puppet theatre, and play area; green lawns where children play what Clive calls “the real football;” and a kiosk selling buckets, balloons, and Orangina.   

Children at Kiosk, Jardin du Ranelagh

Children at Kiosk, Jardin du Ranelagh

 

Ranelagh Garden is one of my Parisian favourites , partly because I have happy memories of time spent here with my late husband and son when our son was a toddler.  I love it for other reasons, too:  it’s big enough to have space for children to run and play, but smaller and more personal than the Tuileries and Luxembourg Gardens.  It combines an elegant feel with the informality of families enjoying Sunday in the park; it’s next to Musée Marmottan, a small museum with an outstanding Monet collection; and it’s an easy walk from here to Trocadéro and the Eiffel Tower.

A Playful Bride    

It’s wonderful enough to see the Eiffel Tower in late afternoon sunshine, with Parisians and tourists alike enjoying being in its presence.   We didn’t expect to see a Japanese model posing for a bridal photo shoot on one of the high cement balconies overlooking Trocadéro Gardens. 

I thought she was beautiful, and wonder if we’ll ever see a magazine with the professional photographs of this scene.

Japanese Model & Eiffel Tower

Japanese Model & Eiffel Tower

 

When she lifted her arms up high (photo at top of this post), I could only think to myself, “I agree!  I love and embrace you, Paris, and I will see you again soon.”

I Embrace  You, Paris

I Embrace You, Paris

One Response

  1. That’s a great photo of the bride. I’m often asked to take photos of people around Paris. I’ll have to remember that way of taking a photo-if I can get the people to venture out on the edge of that drop off.

Leave a Reply

