Currency Conversion Fee Class Action Lawsuit

Ho-Ho-Kus, New Jersey, U.S.A.

On top of everything else we’re doing in the U.S., I received a formal letter stating I needed to provide additional information to the settlement administrator for the Currency Conversion Fee Antitrust Litigation lawsuit.

In an earlier post, “Why Should They Have It? How to Avoid Currency Conversion Fees,” I wrote about my longstanding practice of using a credit card while traveling, and Clive’s more cost-effective practice of using commission-free travelers’ cheques.

It turns out Clive wasn’t the only one concerned about currency fee rip-offs.

Currency Conversion Fee Antitrust Litigation Lawsuit
The issue of outrageous currency conversion fees was so serious that this lawsuit was brought forward, covering a ten-year period from February, 1996 to November, 2006. Details can be viewed at the CCFS website.

This Time It Might Be Worth It
Over the years I’ve received a number of official letters regarding class action lawsuits. I never thought I had enough at stake to warrant the tedious, time-consuming process of dredging up data and filling out forms.
In this case, for the first time ever, I thought it might be worth completing the settlement forms, given my history of using my credit card when traveling overseas.

We’ll see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

