Moving to Washington, D.C.: It’s Physical

Sydney, Tuesday

On Sunday and Monday in Australia, we helped celebrate an early 30th birthday with Clive’s daughter-in-law, because we’ll be away next month on her actual birthday.  When we got back to Sydney Monday night, my son was getting up in New Jersey on Monday morning, preparing to move to Washington, D.C.  Arising even earlier than my son was our friend C in Connecticut, who drove from his house in Fairfield County to my mother’s in Bergen County, to provide the gift of emotional and physical support for this move. 

As I wrote about being a global family , we can’t always be where we’d like to be at a given point in time.  It’s not that this doesn’t happen with all families, but sometimes the distance challenge hits hard.  This was my son’s first big move, and to his first apartment after college just before he starts his first full-time job.  I wish we could have been there to provide moral support and practical assistance.  But distance and our already-booked flights for early September made this impractical.      

How do you thank those friends who are not only there for you emotionally, but also physically, and just when you need them the most?  C and his wife S have a son; our boys met in kindergarten, our two families shared years of school events and dinners together, they supported us long-distance when my late husband was diagnosed with cancer, they were there in spirit with me and my son after my husband’s death, and in the last few years, they have warmly welcomed Clive into their hearts and their home.

C, like Clive, is British by birth and he’s spent much of his career with the same global bank for which Clive worked for 20+ years in Australia.  S and I have shared confidences ranging from our opinions of our children’s teachers to worries about our aging mothers.  Times when the four of us get together, which are much too rare, are wonderful indeed.

On Monday in the U.S., C drove from Connecticut to New Jersey, helped my son load the U-Haul, followed him on the highways and Interstates to Washington, D.C., helped him unload the truck and move contents to his new apartment, and made an emergency trip to a branch of the aforementioned global bank to get a cashier’s check that was unexpectedly required.  S said, “It’s good to have a banker around sometimes.”  Then C followed my son to the Washington U-Haul return, drove both of them back up the highways and Interstates to NJ (where my son will do final move preparations), and finally drove himself home to Connecticut.  And they did it all in one day.

I am looking forward to thanking C and S in the U.S. next month.  And since I’m The Mother, I can’t wait to visit my son in his new city and his new digs.  Clive has never been to Washington, D.C., and it should be interesting for him to be in the U.S. during the last few months before the Presidential election.

But before then, we will get together in person with these cherished friends, and I’ll be able to give them a hug and tell them again how much their friendship means to me.

Thank you, C and S, especially to you, C, from the bottom of my heart, for everything.

2 Responses

  1. What lovely, lovely friends. People who care about making your load (as a mother who can’t be there)a bit later by helping your son with his.

    As someone who’s lived in DC for a long time (and in NY and Boston too) and knows the NE corridor well, I’m absolutely ASTOUNDED at their having accomplished all that in one day!

  2. Kim, thanks so much for your comment. You really understand what this meant to me, as well as what a huge effort and achievement it was.

    Cheers and much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

