Living with a Brit

 

Sydney, Sunday 

I met Clive on 10 September, 2005, a little over two years after I was widowed.  My husband, Gary, died on 2 August 2003, following a courageous battle against gastric cancer, and our son left home for university in August 2004.  I continued in my Asia Pacific management job, wandered around my empty nest, and wondered if I would ever be ready and lucky enough to find love again. 

From my first coffee with Clive, at a cafe overlooking the Pacific Ocean at Manly Beach, I knew there was something special about him.  He said he felt the same about me.  We lived 7 minutes apart and had no doubt walked by each other many times, on the Corso between the Harbour and ocean, or along the walkway to Shelly Beach. 

Timing is everything, and the paths of an American ex-pat and a British immigrant joined together.  I often tell Clive, “You’re an original,” and he is.  

Our preferred method of communication is Australian English, which has its own idiosyncracies.  Clive struggles with some of my pronunciations, and I struggle with some of his.   He says, “why do Americans pronounce t’s in the middle of words as if they were d’s?” 

We have a lot of fun, and occasional heated conversations, comparing British, American, and Australian English. 

An added bonus of Clive’s heritage, and his father still living in the house in which Clive was born, is that when we visit UK family and friends we are, of course, that much closer to Paris.

C and C in Sydney (taken by a random tourist)

3 Responses

  1. He sounds like a nice guy and you two sound happy. I hope you make it to Paris before too long.

  2. I’m just starting to read your blog, and am so happy to hear you found love unexpectedly too after what was no doubt a sad time for you. I can’t wait to read more of what looks like a very interesting journey. 🙂

  3. Sharell, thanks so much for your comment! I really appreciate it and likewise, am so happy to have discovered your blog (and book!) . And I know you understand about Aussie vs. American English from your travel writing!

    Cheers and thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

