Dear Dad: Two Years On, Missing You at Balmoral Beach

Balmoral Beach, Sydney

Dear Dad,

Two years ago, you took your last breath in this life.

I miss you every day, but isn’t it funny that on this day that marks your two-year death date, I find myself in the same city and the same hotel in which I received the dreaded phone call telling me you were gone.

What else to do, but return with Clive to Balmoral Beach, where I have those precious memories of playing whiffleball with you and your grandson.

I scattered red rose petals for you today, Dad. Did you see me there? In my mind’s eye I saw you — giving it a go, swinging the bat, calling ‘good pitch, GR.’ I felt the softness of the roses and inhaled their sweet fragrance and pictured you giving me your little combined shrug/scowl  and saying ‘waste of money’.

Not a waste for me, Dad! Red roses mean love.

Thanks for the love you gave me, Dad. I miss you, and I love you.

Rose petals for my father at Balmoral Beach, Sydney

8 Responses

  1. What a poignant post.

    Hugs x

  2. Thank you for sharing this intimate moment with us.

  3. I love your posts for your dad. I scarce can believe it has been two years already.

    The rose petals on the beach are lovely, Carolyn. *hug*

    xx
    Karin

  4. A lovely tribute to your Dad, I understand only too well. Take Care.

  5. Heidi, Paris Paul P, Emily, Karin, LindyLouMac — I appreciate your kind comments. Cheers and thank you.

  6. I love the tribute that you have made for your Dad and can now see why you were touched by my recent blog post. Your words and gesture of rose pedals on the beach is one that brings tears to my eyes. I am sure that your Dad saw you there and was smiling down on you…

    I lost my Dad in 1994, when he was only 54… and there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think of him. The candle I lit in Sacré Coeur for my Grandfather yesterday was sitting next to one I lit for my Dad… both shining brightly side by side.

    Treasure each moment you had with your father and remember how lucky we were to have such people in our lives, even if we wish it was for a longer period of time. Hugs

  7. Bella, thanks so much for your comment. I can relate to how you miss your father every day, and love that you lit candles at Sacré-Coeur. We were both so lucky, indeed.

    Cheers and thanks again – enjoy Paris!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.